Contact Your Legislator

Tell North Carolina legislators to pass Heart Heroes legislation and save more lives.
Help us by sharing Contact Your Legislator now

Help Support Heart Heroes Legislation

Carolina Donor Services is leading the way to change North Carolina law so that the heart emblem on a North Carolina driver's license or state ID indicates one’s decision to be an organ, eye and tissue donor. Current North Carolina Heart Prevails law restricts tissue donation. North Carolina is the only state in the nation where tissue for transplantation is not included in the first-person authorization at the DMV.

Donated tissue helps save the lives of patients with severe burns, defective heart valves, bone cancer, breast reconstruction, and torn ligaments or tendons.

Senate Bill 210 Organ and Tissue Donation/Heart Heroes passed the North Carolina Senate by a vote of 48 to 0! Help us thank our Senate primary sponsors Senators Krawiec, McKissick, and Horner for their leadership and support and also the members of the North Carolina Senate for voting to support Heart Heroes.

There is an identical bill also moving in the House. House Bill 126 Organ and Tissue Donation/Heart Heroes is sponsored by Representatives Murphy, Dobson, Potts, and Sasser. Please take a moment to thank these primary sponsors and also contact your House member listed below to ask that they support HB126 Organ and Tissue Donation/Heart Heroes.

 

North Carolina House of Representatives

Jay Adams Jay.Adams@ncleg.net Catawba
Gale Adcock Gale.Adcock@ncleg.net Wake
John Ager John.Ager@ncleg.net Buncombe
Kelly M. Alexander, Jr. Kelly.Alexander@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Dean Arp Dean.Arp@ncleg.net Union
John Autry John.Autry@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Cynthia Ball Cynthia.Ball@ncleg.net Wake
Lisa Stone Barnes Lisa.Barnes@ncleg.net Franklin,  Nash
Sydney Batch Sydney.Batch@ncleg.net Wake
Chaz Beasley Chaz.Beasley@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Mary Belk Mary.Belk@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
John R. Bell, IV John.Bell@ncleg.net Greene,  Johnston,  Wayne
MaryAnn Black MaryAnn.Black@ncleg.net Durham
Hugh Blackwell Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net Burke
James L. Boles, Jr. Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net Moore
William D. Brisson William.Brisson@ncleg.net Bladen,  Sampson
Cecil Brockman Cecil.Brockman@ncleg.net Guilford
Mark Brody Mark.Brody@ncleg.net Anson,  Union
Dana Bumgardner Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net Gaston
Deb Butler Deb.Butler@ncleg.net Brunswick,  New Hanover
Becky Carney Becky.Carney@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Jerry Carter Jerry.Carter@ncleg.net Rockingham
Christy Clark Christy.Clark@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Ashton Wheeler Clemmons Ashton.Clemmons@ncleg.net Guilford
George G. Cleveland George.Cleveland@ncleg.net Onslow
Debra Conrad Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net Forsyth
Kevin Corbin Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.net Cherokee,  Clay,  Graham,  Macon
Carla D. Cunningham Carla.Cunningham@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Allison A. Dahle Allison.Dahle@ncleg.net Wake
Ted Davis, Jr. Ted.Davis@ncleg.net New Hanover
Jimmy Dixon Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net Duplin,  Onslow
Josh Dobson Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net Avery,  McDowell,  Mitchell
Jeffrey Elmore Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net Alexander,  Wilkes
Terence Everitt Terence.Everitt@ncleg.net Wake
John Faircloth John.Faircloth@ncleg.net Guilford
Jean Farmer-Butterfield Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net Wilson
Susan C. Fisher Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net Buncombe
Elmer Floyd Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net Cumberland
John A. Fraley John.Fraley@ncleg.net Iredell
James D. Gailliard James.Gailliard@ncleg.net Nash
Terry E. Garrison Terry.Garrison@ncleg.net Granville,  Vance,  Warren
Rosa U. Gill Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net Wake
Ken Goodman Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net Montgomery,  Richmond,  Stanly
Edward C. Goodwin Edward.Goodwin@ncleg.net Bertie,  Camden,  Chowan,  
Perquimans,  Tyrrell, Washington
Charles Graham Charles.Graham@ncleg.net Robeson
Holly Grange Holly.Grange@ncleg.net New Hanover
Kyle Hall Kyle.Hall@ncleg.net Rockingham,  Stokes,  Surry
Destin Hall Destin.Hall@ncleg.net Caldwell
Bobby Hanig Bobby.Hanig@ncleg.net Currituck,  Dare,  Hyde,  Pamlico
Jon Hardister Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net Guilford
Wesley Harris, PhD Wesley.Harris@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Pricey Harrison Pricey.Harrison@ncleg.net Guilford
Kelly E. Hastings Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net Cleveland,  Gaston
Zack Hawkins Zack.Hawkins@ncleg.net Durham
Cody Henson Cody.Henson@ncleg.net Henderson,  Polk,  Transylvania
Yvonne Lewis Holley Yvonne.Holley@ncleg.net Wake
D. Craig Horn Craig.Horn@ncleg.net Union
Julia C. Howard Julia.Howard@ncleg.net Davie,  Rowan
Chris Humphrey Chris.Humphrey@ncleg.net Lenoir,  Pitt
Rachel Hunt Rachel.Hunt@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Howard J. Hunter, III Howard.Hunter@ncleg.net Gates,  Hertford,  Pasquotank
Pat B. Hurley Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net Randolph
Frank Iler Frank.Iler@ncleg.net Brunswick
Verla Insko Verla.Insko@ncleg.net Orange
Darren G. Jackson Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net Wake
Steve Jarvis Steve.Jarvis@ncleg.net Davidson
Joe John Joe.John@ncleg.net Wake
Linda P. Johnson LindaP.Johnson@ncleg.net Cabarrus
Brenden H. Jones Brenden.Jones@ncleg.net Columbus,  Robeson
Keith Kidwell Keith.Kidwell@ncleg.net Beaufort,  Craven
Donny Lambeth Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net Forsyth
David R. Lewis David.Lewis@ncleg.net Harnett
Brandon Lofton Brandon.Lofton@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Carolyn G. Logan Carolyn.Logan@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Marvin W. Lucas Marvin.Lucas@ncleg.net Cumberland
Nasif Majeed Nasif.Majeed@ncleg.net Mecklenburg
Grier Martin Grier.Martin@ncleg.net Wake
Pat McElraft Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net Carteret,  Jones
Chuck McGrady Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net Henderson
Allen McNeill Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net Moore,  Randolph
Graig R. Meyer Graig.Meyer@ncleg.net Caswell,  Orange
Derwin L. Montgomery Derwin.Montgomery@ncleg.net Forsyth
Tim Moore Tim.Moore@ncleg.net Cleveland
Marcia Morey Marcia.Morey@ncleg.net Durham
Gregory F. Murphy, MD Gregory.Murphy@ncleg.net Pitt
Garland E. Pierce Garland.Pierce@ncleg.net Hoke,  Scotland
Larry G. Pittman Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net Cabarrus,  Rowan
Larry W. Potts Larry.Potts@ncleg.net Davidson
Michele D. Presnell Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net Haywood,  Madison,  Yancey
Joe Sam Queen Joe.Queen@ncleg.net Haywood,  Jackson,  Swain
Amos L. Quick, III Amos.Quick@ncleg.net Guilford
Robert T. Reives, II Robert.Reives@ncleg.net Chatham,  Durham
William O. Richardson William.Richardson@ncleg.net Cumberland
Dennis Riddell Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net Alamance
David Rogers David.Rogers@ncleg.net Burke,  Rutherford
Stephen M. Ross Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net Alamance
C. Ray Russell Ray.Russell@ncleg.net Ashe,  Watauga
Jason Saine Jason.Saine@ncleg.net Lincoln
Wayne Sasser Wayne.Sasser@ncleg.net Cabarrus,  Stanly
John Sauls John.Sauls@ncleg.net Harnett,  Lee
Mitchell S. Setzer Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net Catawba
Phil Shepard Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net Onslow
Carson Smith Carson.Smith@ncleg.net Columbus,  Pender
Kandie D. Smith Kandie.Smith@ncleg.net Pitt
Raymond E. Smith, Jr. Raymond.Smith@ncleg.net Sampson,  Wayne
Michael Speciale Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net Craven
Sarah Stevens Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net Alleghany,  Surry,  Wilkes
Larry C. Strickland Larry.Strickland@ncleg.net Harnett,  Johnston
John Szoka John.Szoka@ncleg.net Cumberland
Evelyn Terry Evelyn.Terry@ncleg.net Forsyth
John A. Torbett John.Torbett@ncleg.net Gaston
Rena W. Turner Rena.Turner@ncleg.net Iredell
Brian Turner Brian.Turner@ncleg.net Buncombe
Julie von Haefen Julie.vonHaefen@ncleg.net Wake
Harry Warren Harry.Warren@ncleg.net Rowan
Donna McDowell White Donna.White@ncleg.net Johnston
Shelly Willingham Shelly.Willingham@ncleg.net Edgecombe,  Martin
Michael H. Wray Michael.Wray@ncleg.net Halifax,  Northampton
Larry Yarborough Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.net Granville,  Person
Lee Zachary Lee.Zachary@ncleg.net Forsyth,  Yadkin